Du bist hier: The Art of Reading | Blog | Crown of Midnight ♦ Sarah J. Maas | Review

Crown of Midnight ♦ Sarah J. Maas | Review

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2) ♦ Sarah J. Maas | Review

Crown of Midnight, the second installment of the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas came around with new mysteries and old secrets, some were uncovered and many more are still unknown.

Crown of Midnight ♦ Sarah J. Maas | ReviewTitle: Crown of Midnight
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #2
More Volumes: Celeanas Geschichte, Die Erwählte, The Assassin's Blade, Throne of Glass, Heir of Fire
ISBN-13: 9781619630628
Publisher: Bloomsbury, published on 27. Aug 2013
Genre: Adventure, Fae, High Fantasy, Magic, New Adult
Pages: 420
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Purchased at: Amazon
Buy here: Amazon
Link to Goodreads

My rating:

"A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend."

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena's world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie... and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

More Books by the Author: Dornen und Rosen, Flammen und Finsternis, Sterne und Schwerter, Frost und Mondlicht, Celeanas Geschichte

Crown of Midnight ♦ Sarah J. Maas

Once the most feared assassin in Adarlan, who rebelled against slavery before becoming a slave herself in the salt mines of Endovier, she is now the King’s Champion. In this position, she follows in her well-known footsteps as an assassin, only on behalf of the man who once enslaved her. How will Celaena handle this situation? Will she really kill for the man responsible for her family’s death? Because killing, murdering, is what Celaena has to do for the King and the way she’s found to circumvent the hit-and-runs is a balancing act. Should her betrayal of the King become known, it would mean her execution.

Sarah J. Maas greeted me with this brilliant start to Crown of Midnight, and she didn’t stop there. The second volume had a lot more to offer, but one in particular: a main character who is gorgeous, strong, and in absolute control; this makes for an extremely welcome break from all the obnoxious and pathetic heroines that are prevalent in many Young Adult Fantasy books. But the secondary characters also come into their own, they have depth. Both Dorian and Chaol, with the former regaining some of its importance in the last third, while Chaol becomes quite significant for Celaena and the plot as a whole. The author put a lot of thought into all of her characters. While a love triangle was announced in Throne of Glass, this book proved me wrong.

While the first two-thirds of the story brought together a lot of information that was also essential for the plot of Crown of Midnight, it will probably also be important for the following volumes, as the last third was really tough. Intrigues were exposed, tears and blood were shed, and secrets were revealed that got my pulse racing.
Probably the most important twist of all turns out to be at the end and left me breathless.



All the storylines flow seamlessly, and I didn’t even feel like Maas dragged this volume out unnecessarily. The dialogues were entertaining, the twists and turns had me glued to the pages. The character developments are becoming more and more solid, but I’m sure there’s more to come.

Throne of Glass – The Series

The Assassin’s Blade (#0.1-0.5)Throne of Glass (#1)
Crown of Midnight (#2)Heir of Fire (#3)
Queen of Shadows (#4)Empire of Storms (#5)
Tower of Dawn (#6)Kingdom of Ash (#7)

About Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas ist eine Nr. 1 der New York Times und internationale Bestsellerautorin der Serien Crescent City, A Court of Thorns and Roses und Throne of Glass. Ihre Bücher wurden mehr als zwölf Millionen Mal verkauft und erscheinen in siebenunddreißig Sprachen. Sarah stammt aus New York und lebt mit ihrem Mann, ihrem Sohn und ihrem Hund in Philadelphia.

this review was also published at:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Benachrichtige mich bei
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Nach oben scrollen