Du bist hier: The Art of Reading | Blog | Throne of Glass ♦ Sarah J. Maas | Review

Throne of Glass ♦ Sarah J. Maas | Review

Throne of Glass ♦ Sarah J. Maas | Review

Throne of Glass is the first book in a seven-part series written by Sarah J. Maas.
As I already wrote in my review of The Assassin’s Blade, I already know the German translation of the series. But I would like to experience the book series in the English original now.

Throne of GlassThrone of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass (E) #1
Published: 7. May 2013 by Bloomsbury USA
406 pages
Genre: Adventure, Fae, High Fantasy, Magic
Audience: Young Adult
Shelve: Read 2023
Link to Goodreads

“Nothing is a coincidence. Everything has a purpose. You were meant to come to this castle, just as you were meant to be an assassin.”

When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the King's Champion and be released from prison.

Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her.

And a princess from a foreign land will become the one thing Celaena never thought she'd have again: a friend.

But something evil dwells in the castle—and it's there to kill. When her competitors start dying, horribly, one by one, Celaena's fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival—and a desperate quest to root out the source of the evil before it destroys her world.

Buy the Book at: Amazon*

Throne of Glass ♦ Sarah J. Maas


In this first installment of the Throne of Glass series, we meet Celaena a year after what happened at the end of The Assassin’s Blade. As a slave, she works in the salt mines of Endovier, where she endured beatings and violence. Until Chaol Westphal, the Captain of the Guard, shows up and drags her before the Crown Prince of Adarlan, Dorian Havilliard. He makes her an unusual offer, which could ultimately give her back her freedom.
To get out of the misery of slave labor and with a view to her freedom, Celaena agrees to the terms and becomes the crown prince’s champion. Now the most notorious female assassin returns to Rifthold, where she will compete in a tournament to become the king’s champion, his personal assassin.

Sarah J. Maas gradually introduces Celaena’s individual opponents, and it quickly becomes clear that something is off about Cain. But the author cleverly interweaves small hints, which come into their own at the end of the story.
Also, the references to the unusual behavior of the King and Duke Perrington often made me think. And why did Kaltain, another pawn in court intrigue, keeps getting headaches and hearing a strange flapping of wings around Perrington? These puzzles will probably have to wait a while for their solution.
Because Celaena made it through to the last round of the tournament with diligence, a little cheating and a fighting spirit. But in the meantime she was able to win over two friends. Nehemiah is one of them and will be of great importance to her. The clarification of strange murder cases among the participants becomes a not unimportant part of her task, even if Chaol and Dorian notice nothing of Celaena’s nocturnal forays through the catacombs of the castle.

Maas makes it exciting until the end. She also mysteriously involved the appearance of Elena, an ancestor of Celaena. That leaves plenty of scope for more. The reference to the bow of the Goddess Diana also promises to be important for the further plot of the series.



Throne of Glass is epic, exciting and addictive! The hidden darkness that weaves together in the subplot promises to contain some secrets that will probably only be revealed gradually over the course of the entire series plot. The author’s fluent and engaging style of writing doesn’t let you put the book down. Her characters are expressive and vividly described. The world that stretches around the main protagonist is also captivating. Even after you’ve finished, you want to dive straight into the next volume, Crown of Midnight.

Throne of Glass – The Series

The Assassin’s Blade (#0.1-0.5)Throne of Glass (#1)
Crown of Midnight (#2)Heir of Fire (#3)
Queen of Shadows (#4)Empire of Storms (#5)
Tower of Dawn (#6)Kingdom of Ash (#7)

About Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas ist eine Nr. 1 der New York Times und internationale Bestsellerautorin der Serien Crescent City, A Court of Thorns and Roses und Throne of Glass. Ihre Bücher wurden mehr als zwölf Millionen Mal verkauft und erscheinen in siebenunddreißig Sprachen. Sarah stammt aus New York und lebt mit ihrem Mann, ihrem Sohn und ihrem Hund in Philadelphia.

diese Rezension wurde auch hier veröffentlicht:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Benachrichtige mich bei
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Nach oben scrollen