Du bist hier: The Art of Reading | Blog | Death ♦ Laura Thalassa | Review
Death - Review

Death ♦ Laura Thalassa | Review

A Captivating Tale of Love and Immortality

The captivating and exquisitely written book Death the final installment of The Four Horsemen series by Laura Thalassa delves into the depths of love, immortality, and the lengths one will go to in order to protect those they care about. The surprising and deeply nuanced character of Thanatos, often known as Death, lies at the center of Thalassa’s captivating story.

DeathDeath by Laura Thalassa
Series: The Four Horsemen #4
Published: 15. August 2023 by Bloom Books
563 pages
Genre: Death, Dystopia, Mythology, Paranormal, Post Apocalyptic, Romance, Urban Fantasy
Audience: Adult
Shelve: Read 2023
Link to Goodreads

They came to earth--Pestilence, War, Famine, Death--four horsemen riding their screaming steeds, racing to the corners of the world. Four horsemen with the power to destroy all of humanity. They came to earth, and they came to end us all.

He’s known by many names: Thanatos. Horseman. God’s last angel. And then, of course, there's the one I’m all too familiar with—


The day Death comes to Lazarus Gaumond’s town and kills everyone in one fell swoop, the last thing he expects to see is a woman left alive and standing. But Lazarus has her own extraordinary gift: she cannot be killed—not by humans, not by the elements, not by Death himself.

She is the one soul Death doesn’t recognize. The one soul he cannot pry free from her flesh. Nor can he ignore the unsettling desire he has for her. Take her. He wants to, desperately. And the longer she tries to stop him from his killing spree, the stronger the desire becomes.

When Lazarus crosses paths with the three other horsemen, an unthinkable situation leads to a terrible deal: seduce Death, save the world. A hopeless task, made all the worse by the bad blood between her and Thanatos. But Death’s attraction to her is undeniable, and try though she might, Lazarus cannot stay away from that ancient, beautiful being and his dark embrace.

The end is here. Humankind is set to perish, and not even the horsemen can stop Death from fulfilling his final task.

Only Lazarus can.

Buy the Book at: Amazon*

Death ♦ Laura Thalassa


Thalassa immerses us in a universe where death and immortality collide right away, and the mysterious character of Thanatos plays a key role in the drama that develops. The character of Death, who is surprisingly deep and multifaceted, is what makes this work unique. He shows up as a complex person/deity who struggles with both his responsibilities and the unexpected feelings that Lazarus Gaumond evokes in him, rather than being a clichéd depiction of Death.

Thanatos‚ emotional journey is a highlight of the work. Despite his immortality, Thalassa expertly navigates the complexities of his personal issues, making him a realistic and sympathetic character. His battle with the idea of abandoning his duty, particularly for someone as compelling as Lazarus Gaumond, provides a dimension of depth to the plot that keeps the reader engaged and emotionally invested.

The female protagonist, Lazarus Gaumond, is as engaging. Her character is not a helpless damsel in distress, but rather a powerful and independent woman who confronts Thanatos in surprising ways. The two characters‘ attraction is evident, and their blossoming relationship lends a dimension of drama and passion to the overall reading experience.

Thalassa’s poetry of Death is lush and lyrical, conjuring up vivid images of both the immortal and mortal existences. The pacing is fantastic, with twists and turns that keep the reader turning pages with bated breath. The author’s ability to mix strong action scenes with emotional depth adds to the narrative’s overall richness.



In the end, Death is a five-star series finale that flawlessly blends fantasy, romance, and the supernatural. Laura Thalassa has created a universe and characters that will stay with the reader long after the last page is turned. If you’re looking for a book that not only defies established stereotypes but also touches your heart, Death is a must-read.

The Four Horsemen – The Series

Pestilence (#1)War (#2)
Famine (#3)Death (#4)

About Laura Thalassa

Laura Thalassa

Found in the forest when she was young, Laura Thalassa was raised by fairies, kidnapped by werewolves, and given over to vampires as repayment for a hundred-year debt. She’s been brought back to life twice, and, with a single kiss, she woke her true love from eternal sleep. She now lives happily ever after with her undead prince in a castle in the woods.

… or something like that anyway.

When not writing, Laura can be found scarfing down guacamole, hoarding chocolate for the apocalypse, or curled up on the couch with a good book.

this review was also published at:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Benachrichtige mich bei
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Nach oben scrollen